Karen Kain receives Distinguished Artist Award from ISPA

By Brittany Duggan
  • Karen Kain / Photo by Sian Richards

Karen Kain, artistic director of The National Ballet of Canada, was awarded the Distinguished Artist Award from the International Society for the Performing Arts (ISPA) on June 16th during the society’s 25th Congress, which was held in Toronto June 15th through 18th. The awards acknowledge the contribution made by arts leaders and professionals committed to advancing the field of the performing arts. Also honoured this year were British choreographer Akram Khan, set and costume designer Michael Levine and songwriter Luc Plamondon. Past recipients have included Celia Franca (1979), Philip Glass (1989), Mikhail Baryshnikov (1982), Jerome Robbins (1978), Martha Graham (1976), Merce Cunningham (1993), Pina Bausch (2000), Twyla Tharp (1996), Alvin Ailey (1984) and Suzanne Farrell (1986), among others. Kain’s award was presented to her by arts patron and Business for the Arts Chair Jim Fleck.

You May Also Like...