I Love Dance Awards

By Kathleen Smith
  • Mirna Zagar on behalf of Circuit-Est, Mark Siller on behalf of BluePrintforLife, Lynanne Sparrow for NextSteps, Collette “CoCo” Murray and Margaret Grenier / Photo courtesy of Canadian Dance Assembly

At an evening reception and presentation at Vancouver’s Orpheum Annex on November 19, the Canadian Dance Assembly (CDA) and its sponsorship partners presented six awards to deserving individuals and dance organizations from across Canada. The 2013 I Love Dance (ILD) Awards were hosted by Ballet BC Artistic Director Emily Molnar and featured brief but inspiring speeches by the Hon. Coralee Oakes, member of the British Columbia Legislative Assembly, and Olympic rower Darcy Marquardt.

The winners are:

Toronto educator, performer and choreographer Collette “Coco” Murray won the ILD Community Award

William Yong of Toronto-based Zata Omm Dance Projects won the ILD Award for Innovation

Ottawa-based Blueprintforlife won the ILD Award for Contributions in Health

Toronto’s Nextsteps (Harbourfront Centre) and British Columbia-based Dancers of Damelhamid’s Margaret Grenier shared the ILD Award for the Promotion of Pluralism

Montréal’s Circuit–Est won the ILD Organization Award

Calgary’s Decidedly Jazz Danceworks won the ILD Youth Award


You May Also Like...