Dance Centre announces Isadora Awards recipients

By Brittany Duggan

Isadora Awards for Excellence in Choreography, Excellence in Performance and Excellence in Teaching were awarded to Rosario Ancer, Natalie LeFebvre-Gnam and Barbara Bourget, respectively. Ancer won for her piece Mis Hermanas: Thicker Than Water, My Sisters and I, which was premiered by her company, Flamenco Rosario, in 2008. LeFebvre-Gnam won for her performance in endORPHIN, an evening-length choreography by husband James Gnam as part of their company, the plastic orchid factory. Barbara Bourget, artistic director of Kokoro Dance, won for her long-standing role as a teacher of contemporary dance throughout BC. The Isadora Awards, named after the late dance pioneer Isadora Duncan, were instituted by The Dance Centre in 1999 to acknowledge and celebrate the achievements of the dance profession in BC. Each recipient is chosen from a jury of professionals working in the field after having been nominated by members of the dance community. The award includes fully subsidized rehearsal space at the Scotiabank Dance Centre to the value of $1000 for the year.

You May Also Like...