Awards and Acknowledgements

July 2015
  • Deanna Peters and Jennifer Mascall / Photo by Chris Randle
  • Randy Glynn
  • Ainsley Hillyard

On July 1, choreographer Ginette Laurin was appointed a Member of the Order of Canada. Montréal-based Laurin is artistic director of O Vertigo, a company she founded in 1984. The Order of Canada is one of our country’s highest civilian honours.

On July 8, Vancouver’s Goh Ballet announced that senior professional students Michelle Khoo and Letizia Dotto received the Finalist Diploma and the Korea Ballet Foundation Award at the 2015 Seoul International Ballet Competition in Korea. Fellow students Chihiro Abe and Cierra Munro were also competing in Vienna this year.

On July 14, Dancing in the Third Act by East Coast choreographer Randy Glynn was selected as a finalist for the 2015 Lieutenant Governor of Nova Scotia Masterworks Arts Award. As well as receiving a $3000 prize for being shortlisted, Glynn is in the running for the $22,000 grand prize that will be announced at the Creative Nova Scotia Gala on November 7.

On July 15, Vancouver’s The Dance Centre announced Mascall Dance Artistic Director Jennifer Mascall as this year’s recipient of the Isadora Award for Excellence in Dance in recognition of her contribution to British Columbia’s dance scene through a career spanning over thirty years; and Deanna Peters was the recipient of the biennial Iris Garland Emerging Choreographer Award, which supports the work of emerging artists.

On July 20, Edmonton’s Ainsley Hillyard accepted the 2015 Elizabeth Sterling Haynes Award for Outstanding Choreography. She won it for her movement design on Bears, a multi-disciplinary comedy about the Northern Gateway Pipeline. Hillyard is an artistic director of Good Women Dance Collective.

You May Also Like...