ACA winners at d:mic/fac

  • Throwdown Collective / Photo by Courtnae Bouman
  • Brendan Wyatt and Amy Hampton in Middle Distance / Photo by Kristy Kennedy

Artistic Director Yvonne Ng, on behalf of princess productions and guest curators Serge Bennathan and Cylla von Tiedemann, recently announced the award winners from the 2013 edition of the dance: made in canada / fait au canada (d:mic/fac) festival which ran August 14-17 at the Betty Oliphant Theatre in Toronto. New this year, the festival initiated Audience Choice Awards (ACA) for each of the MainStage Series and What-You-See-Is-What-You-Get (WYSIWYG) Late-Night Series with prize money raised through an Indiegogo crowd-funding campaign divided 60/40 between the winners from each series.

The MainStage Series Award goes to Benjamin Kamino, who performed an excerpt from his solo Nudity. Desire. He receives a cheque for $692. The ACA winner from the WYSIWYG Series is Throwdown Collective (Zhenya Cerneacov, Mairéad Filgate and Brodie Stevenson). The Throwdown Collective receives a cheque for $461.

Amy Hampton, whose Middle Distance was featured in the lottery-drawn WYSIWYG Series is the winner of the 2013 Paula Citron Award and receives a cheque for $100.

Congrats to these and all of the winning and talented artists who participated in this year’s d:mic/fac!

You May Also Like...